Boredom, Begone!

9 Apr

Oscar’s been lethargic the past few days.

Perhaps the weather’s to blame; we’ve gone from summer heat to windy winter days this past week alone. I remember reading somewhere that changes in weather affects a dog’s temperament—I hope that’s the case. I’ve been a little uneasy, hoping this doesn’t lead to a visit to the vet.

Good signs:

  • He’s still very, very interested in food. Typical Oscar.
  • He still perks up whenever I pick up his leash.
  • He’s still an exuberant walker, marking the spots he usually marks.

Luckily, all of my worries disappeared today when we braved a trip to the county park while the sun peeked from between the clouds, giving us a much-needed break from all the gloom. Oscar hopped out of bed when he saw me grab his leash and harness and his nose twitched excitedly in the car.

I’m happy to report that he left no tree untouched and no blade of grass unsniffed. He even stopped to watch a Great Dane trotting gracefully on park grounds. Maybe I can chalk it up to the weather after all.

Oscar Park 1

Owner’s note: It’s overcast again and Oscar’s back in bed. Where are you, sunshine?

2 Responses to “Boredom, Begone!”

  1. Christina April 10, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    He does look a bit slimmer.

  2. According to Gus April 11, 2011 at 7:31 am #

    I’m glad to hear that Oscar’s lethargy went away. It always makes us nervous too if Gus acts particularly lazy. I bet it was just the weather that put him in a slump…it happens to the best of us!

Leave a Reply

