In the Event of an Emergency…

29 Apr

This has surely been a week of firsts for us.

Oscar and I were enjoying the last leg of our brisk morning walk when I hear a woman shouting behind us: “Cassie, no!”

I turn around out of curiosity to find a blue pit bull charging, closing the last few feet that separated us. I screamed, startled to see the dog so close when I never heard her coming, but quickly regained my composure when she zoomed passed me and toward Oscar. He evaded her first pounce, but she threw on the brakes and switched gears for another assault.

I racked my brain for something, anything I could do. I couldn’t pick Oscar up unless I wanted to be her new target and I couldn’t grab her collar to try to restrain her incase she whirled around and bit me. I’m surprised I remembered this in the midst of what was happening.

Oscar dodged a total of three charges like a championship boxer before the pit bull’s owner raced over to control her dog who was still snarling and drooling like a wild animal half-crazed by hunger. As she dragged her dog toward her house, she smacked Cassie, exclaiming, “You should know better!”

The entire incident lasted six seconds, but they were the longest six seconds of my life.

She never apologized, but it’s honestly the last thing I wanted. I’m more grateful that Oscar emerged from the attack mentally and physically unscathed. He’s clearly put the past behind him and I have, too.

I harbor no ill feelings against pit bulls, even after our mishap with one. The reputation of the breed always suffers because of irresponsible owners. My heart goes out to Cassie, the blue pit bull who deserves owners fully dedicated to teaching her to become a model canine citizen.

On a positive note, I present this picture of Oscar!

What precautions do you take while walking your furry family members?

I ordered a 1.5 oz. can of Halt!

18 Responses to “In the Event of an Emergency…”

  1. According to Gus April 29, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    OMG. My heart was literally racing as I read your post. We were charged at when Gus was a puppy, and now I’m always on the lookout for loose dogs.

    I am SO glad to hear that both you and Oscar are okay. And seriously, major kudos to you for harboring no ill will towards the dog who charged you.

    Here’s to a much more calm weekend for the two of you!

    • Oscar & Pauline April 30, 2011 at 9:47 am #

      Most likely poor Cassie was never properly socialized and/or trained. This is the first time I’ve seen her in the neighborhood, so she probably doesn’t get walked and has a lot of pent up energy. It’s unfortunate that pit bulls are getting such a bad rap because their owners don’t take responsibility for owning such a powerful dog.

      I’ve met a few pit bulls who were as gentle as kittens, so I can’t blame the breed! 🙂

  2. Just Ramblin' Pier April 29, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    Glad to hear that Oscar and you were ok. We are in-between the walking stage right now. We recently lost our girl that loved to walk, the second in line is dealing with badly aged hips, and the newest (youngest) is waiting her last round of shots before going “public”. A leash is a must. : )

    • Oscar & Pauline April 30, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      My condolences about Maggie Mae. It’s so hard losing a pet, but the time we spend bonding with them makes up for all the heartache. 🙂

  3. Kas April 29, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    Oh my goodness that’s scary!!! I have absolutely nothing against pit bulls, but Evee has been attacked by 2 of them on 2 separate occasions (and Evee is a very neutral dog so the attacks were definitely unprovoked). Luckily in both cases she escaped with no more than some scratches and a bruised/scared ego that lasted for a few days. I know some people that use Halt! as well as bear mace. Some people also carry around a can filled with rocks – the noise of shaking the can really startles the dog. Anyway, glad to hear that you and Oscar are safe and sound!

    • Oscar & Pauline April 30, 2011 at 9:57 am #

      I’ve been doing research on methods to prevent dog attacks and I haven’t come across the can filled with rocks technique. I love DIY solutions! Thanks for the tips!

      I’m so glad nothing serious happened to Evee (and you). 🙂

      • Kas May 1, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

        You’re welcome! When I used to work at a doggie daycare, we used the rock can as well to break up dog fights. It worked the majority of the time – it startles them just long enough to step in.

  4. Novroz April 30, 2011 at 1:05 am #

    Wow…that was really scary. I would have had heart attack if that happened to me. I am a bit paranoid with dog charging at me because of my experience in the past.

    Glad nothing happened to Oscar,that lady should said sorry to you and Oscar

    • Oscar & Pauline April 30, 2011 at 10:00 am #

      An apology would have been nice, but I think I was more grateful that she came out to control her dog just in time!

  5. Happy.Bark.Days April 30, 2011 at 5:04 am #

    What a horrifying experience for you and Oscar! Charging dogs on the loose would be my number one fear when I’m out walking Maple because she’s such a timid little thing. Oscar was really very brave to have dodged swipes from the Pitt Bull. We’re glad to hear Oscar escaped unscathed. Take it easy on yourselves this weekend!

    • Oscar & Pauline April 30, 2011 at 10:03 am #

      I had no idea Oscar was a little Sugar Ray Leonard! I suppose when you’re experiencing a dangerous situation, you can do things you’d never dream you can do! 🙂

  6. furfilled April 30, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    Scary! I find that I tend to panic if a strange, unleashed and aggressive dog comes charging towards Toki, even though I know it’s the worst thing to do . . . But at least she’s a little bigger than poor Oscar. I’m glad he’s so quick on his feet, and that you guys made it out unscathed. Please share any info you find with the rest of us, because we’ve all found ourselves in that situation!

  7. Scriptor Obscura April 30, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    Wow, what a traumatic experience!
    So glad to hear that you and Oscar are OK!

    • Oscar & Pauline May 1, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

      Traumatic, but certainly not scarring. Oscar and I are over it. 🙂

  8. raisingdaisy May 3, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    That’s SO scary. It would take me a long time to get over it. Just the fact that the owner smacked Cassie tells me why/how the dog’s aggressive tendencies were unleashed. I’m glad Oscar is such a limber fellow!

    • Oscar & Pauline May 3, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

      I was a bit taken aback when the owner hit her dog. I can’t imagine hitting Oscar, let alone an animal. They’re so bright-eyed and innocent.

      On a brighter note, thanks for stopping by! Oscar and I love making new friends. 😀

  9. OscarBlogger May 7, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Something similar happened to us a week or two ago – I blogged about it too. It didn’t last long, but it was scary! That owner didn’t apologize either. What is with people? Our Oscar came out okay, and luckily we encountered a friendly dog just a minute or two after, so he ended the walk with a good experience. I can’t believe the lady told her dog that she knows better. Clearly, she doesn’t. Maybe she should put a leash on her dog, since clearly she doesn’t have proper control of her dog when it’s off-leash. Glad that you guys were okay!

    • Oscar & Pauline May 7, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

      Me too! It’s so incredibly sad how particular breeds are getting a bad rap because of irresponsible dog owners. 😦

Leave a comment