ABCs of… Who? Me?

10 Jun

After congratulating our friend at Live, Bark, Love on her academic achievements to reading an interview about the human behind Happy.Bark.Days, I realized how little I’ve shared about myself with my blogging friends.

So, Oscar’s taking a break from the blogosphere and I’m commandeering his web space (just for today)! Our friends at According to Gus used the alphabet to disclose fun facts about themselves and I thought it would be fun to use the same format with pictures of Oscar peppered in-between to satisfy your Oscar fix. 😉

——————–

A.  Age: 24

B.  Book(s): Some of my favorites are The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, Pride and Prejudice, Life of Pi, 1984 and, of course, the Harry Potter series. My bookshelf is loaded with books. I’m considering a Kindle…

C.  Chore You Really Dislike: Believe it or not, I actually enjoy cleaning. I’m a freak, I know.

D.  Dogs or Cats: Cats 😉

E.  Essential Start to Your Day: Can’t start the day without rubbing Oscar’s belly for good luck.

F.  Food You Really Dislike: Brussels sprouts. Yuck.

G.  Guilty Pleasure: Video games. First-person shooters to be exact.

H.  Height: I’m 5”4. Mike’s 6”0.

I.  Instruments You Play: I can play Nirvana’s Come As You Are on guitar. That’s about it. Mike has enough musical talent for the both of us. He can play acoustic and electric guitar, bass guitar and drums.

J.  Job Title: Freelance copy editor

K.  Kids: No, thank you! At least not anytime soon.

L.  Location: Quiet suburb about 25 minutes from Los Angeles.

M.  Musician(s): Jimi Hendrix. Enough said.

N.  Nicknames: I don’t have any nicknames but Oscar has a ton, some of which include Oscar Baby, Baby and Boy.

O.  Overnight Hospital Stays: None! *knocks on wood*

P.  Pet Peeve: Pet owners who leave their dogs in the car with the window cracked open, thinking it’s enough to keep them cool. It drives me nuts!

Q.  Quote From a Movie: Dark Helmet: Before you die there is something you should know about us, Lone Starr. / Lone Starr: What? / Dark Helmet: I am your father’s brother’s nephew’s cousin’s former roommate. / Lone Starr: What’s that make us? / Dark Helmet: Absolutely nothing! Which is what you are about to become. Spaceballs

R.  Right or Left Handed: I’m right-handed. Mike is a lefty.

S.  Siblings: Only child

T.  Television Show: I Love Lucy! It never gets old for me.

U.  Underwear: Yes, please.

V.  Vices: Gluttony. I live to eat and I’m not afraid to try new things, however strange they may be.

W.  What Makes You Run Late: Nothing! I like being fashionably early. Tardiness is another pet peeve of mine.

X.  X-Rays You’ve Had: Nothing besides dental x-rays. I’ve had a panoramic dental x-ray done, which was pretty cool.

Y.  Yummy Food You Make: I like making my own vinaigrette, which is a condiment, not a food, but salad dressing ain’t got nothing on me!

Z.  Zoo – Favorite Animal: The great apes (excluding humans). I can watch them all day. Mike likes the “poo-flinging monkeys.”

20 Responses to “ABCs of… Who? Me?”

  1. raisingdaisy June 10, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    I was surprised at how many things we have in common! No wonder I enjoy your blog…. 😀

  2. Snoopy@snoopysdogblog.com June 10, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Hi Oscars Mum,

    So nice to meet you and learn your ABC – I hate lateness too, I’m always ready whenever Mum wants to take me out, no faffing around from me!! 🙂

    Have a fun weekend,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  3. 2browndawgs June 10, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    Anyone who likes cleaning is OK with me! 🙂 I enjoyed reading your ABC’s. One of my favorite books is Pride and Prejudice too. I don’t know how many times I have read it!

    • Oscar & Pauline June 13, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

      OMG, I’ve had a literary crush on Mr. Darcy for the longest time.

  4. Happy.Bark.Days June 10, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    Hi Pauline! Glad you have been inspired to reveal a little bit about yourself. It’s a pleasure getting to know you, and after reading your ABC’s I have come to realize that dog bloggers share quite a bit in common. Nothing wrong with cleanliness…there are a few of us who are self-confessed germaphobes 😉

    • Happy.Bark.Days June 10, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

      Ack, and I forgot to add that Oscar looks so charming in his new profile picture. What a happy pup!

      • Oscar & Pauline June 13, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

        Your interview on The Daily Toki was one of the factors that inspired me to share a bit about myself.

        I’m grateful for all the blogging friends I’ve made and it’s good to know we have more in common than our love of dogs. 🙂

  5. Novroz June 11, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    this abc is a nice idea. I will do this too one day.

    it’s always nice to know more about the person behind the blog. I really enjoy reading you abc

  6. Kas June 11, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    So cool that you mentioned us! Thanks again for the congrats 🙂

    And I like to clean too … I find it oddly relaxing!!

    • Oscar & Pauline June 13, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

      Same here! There’s just something about standing at the sink with your hands covered in suds that’s just so relaxing.

  7. Cherie K. Miller June 11, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    Oscar – what a great ABC idea for your blog! Good to meet you today on the blog hop.

    Beautiful pics – thanks for sharing. I’m stopping by on the blog hop today – drop by my blog: http://www.pet-peeves.org to watch an awesome video on how some dedicated people in North Carolina are changing their state.

  8. According to Gus June 11, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    I loved reading more about you, Pauline! As much as I enjoy hearing and seeing Oscar Baby – I’m also curious to learn more about the humans behind the blog.

    “I live to eat”. I’m so glad I’m not the only one! I’m constantly thinking about what and when I’m going to eat next!

    • Oscar & Pauline June 13, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

      Foodies unite! 😀

      I usually spend my weekends hitting up restaurants—after Oscar’s walk and after giving him lots of attention, so when I step out, he’s too pooped to care!

  9. didiwright June 13, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    It’s so nice to learn a few things about you and get to know you better. I just hope you’ve hold a few facts back, since I’ve just awarded you and cute Oscar the Versatile Blogger Award (which means you’ll have to share more :P). You can pick it up at our blog! 🙂

  10. lepawsvoyage June 13, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    Your ABCs are great. What a great way to know you better. Your quote at the movie makes me laugh so loud that I awaken the little one. Oops 😛

    • Oscar & Pauline June 13, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

      That movie quote was the first to pop into mind and I’ve been chuckling ever since. You should watch Spaceballs if you haven’t yet! That movie is full of hilarious, silly lines I think you’d enjoy. 🙂

  11. furfilled June 13, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    That was such a fun post! I love getting to know more about the bloggers behind the websites . . . so I’m glad you enjoyed the interview on The Daily Toki. : )

    That’s interesting that you’re a cat person, with a dog blog. (I won’t tell Oscar!) We also have a lot in common – esp. in your book list. I bought a kindle a year ago, and it’s one of my most used electronic gadgets, besides my desktop computer. It’s great for traveling (no more book-filled suitcases) and if you like to read more than one book at a time. I’d recommend getting the larger screen version if you can. I have the original size, and now wish I had sprung for the bigger one.

    Thanks for sharing!!! Hugs – Christine and Toki

    • Oscar & Pauline June 16, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

      Thanks for your insight regarding the Kindle, Christine!

      Did you know Amazon is adding new features to the Kindle? Later this year users will be able to check out an e-book at their local libraries and read them directly on their Kindles, but the feature I’m crazy about is being to lend e-books to Kindle and Kindle app users! I’m pretty much sold…

Leave a Reply

