Oscar? Versatile?

13 Jun

Much to our surprise, Oscar and I returned to the blogosphere after a weekend of rest and relaxation to find not one, but two Versatile Blogger Awards waiting for us! Oscar perked up at the mention of an “award,” but was disheartened to discover it wasn’t edible. Perhaps I’ll give him an extra Zuke’s treat for being such a versatile blogger. πŸ˜‰

Much love to our friends at 2 Brown Dawgs and My Little Dog for including us among their list of nominees! We’re excited to tackle the prerequisites for accepting this award, which include link loving the blogger(s) who nominated us, sharing seven facts about us and passing on the award because sharing is caring.

  1. Oscar’s favorite color is green. After much observation, I’ve come to the conclusion that green is Oscar’s favorite color. His favorite blanket is green, his favorite toy is green and his bed is green. When he’s not playing with his beloved squeaky turtle, the toy in his mouth is green.
  2. I like experimenting with my diet. I was a vegetarian for about six months until enticed by an In-N-Out burger and attempted a vegan diet that lasted less than 24 hours (LOL!).
  3. I’m a self-professed bibliophile. I love books. I love the smell of books, the motion of turning a page and the satisfaction of finishing a story. All of which makes transitioning to an e-reader so difficult.
  4. Oscar’s named after a literary character. Oscar is named after the protagonist of Junot Diaz’s The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao.
  5. I adore Gone With the Wind. Romance blooms in the midst of the Civil War that left the South altered and scarred. I’m betting everyone has an inner Scarlett O’Hara and/or Rhett Butler. πŸ˜‰
  6. Oscar sometimes howls in his sleep. Probably dreaming about sirens.
  7. Oscar was a lean, mean street dog. Alright, he was never mean, but he was lean at one point of his life! Oscar was a stray who needed a home and when no one claimed him, we decided to make him part of the family.

Now, the finalΒ prerequisite of receiving this prizeβ€”the pleasure of passing the award to fellow bloggers! Here are some of our favorite blogs, in no particular order:

  1. Raising Daisy
  2. Le Paws Voyage
  3. Yuki the Dog
  4. Live, Bark, Love
  5. Happy.Bark.Days
  6. The Daily Toki
  7. Sabrina’s Pug Tails
  8. Snoopy’s Dogblog
  9. Oscar the Pooch
  10. According to Gus
  11. Wandering Wolfy
  12. Daily Bailey
  13. Sugar the Golden Retriever
  14. Cat Versus Human
  15. Kame & Kroten Blog

Thank you for making this blogging journey so enjoyable!

23 Responses to “Oscar? Versatile?”

  1. Snoopy@snoopysdogblog.com June 13, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    First of all, thank you so much for the award!! Yay!!

    Secondly, how very clever of you to show your Mum you loved Green by picking out all green stuff! πŸ™‚

    Third and final comment, my Mum is vegetarian and hoped maybe I would like that diet too, but nope, I’m with Dad, I like meat!! πŸ™‚

    Hope you’re having fun,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

    • Oscar & Pauline June 16, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

      You’re welcome, Snoopy! Oscar and I love seeing what you’re up to, so selecting your blog was the obvious choice. πŸ™‚

  2. yuki the dog June 13, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    thanks so much for this award! seems everyone is getting awards tonight, sometimes double…but anyway, just wanted to let you know i have awarded you Inspirational Blog Award…so stop on by and pick up your badge…i’ll have to think about my 7 facts…i dont know if i can pick more blogs to give the versatile award to…it’s so difficult to narrow it down! πŸ™‚
    yuki

  3. didiwright June 14, 2011 at 2:35 am #

    Wow, from your post and yuki’s comment, it looks like you guys are really popular! No surprise there!

    I know why Oscar loves greeen ….Because it makes a wonderful background for himself πŸ˜›
    I love fruit and veg, but I’ve never been tempted to be a vegetarian. My husband tried it for a couple of months and he thought he’d die of starvation. Now we’re into fish, it works much better.
    I am with you when it comes of books…Bookworm or bibliophile, however you want to call it, that’s me! I, too, think that holding a Kindle does not compare with turning (and smelling) the actual pages of a real book, but as a family we’ve decided to test one out, since we can’t fit any more books in the house. Luckily, having a techno kid in the house kind of forces us to keep up with technology.
    Love the inspiration for Oscar’s name…
    I had a crush on Rhett when I was 10…
    Sirens??

    • Oscar & Pauline June 16, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

      Oh, I know. I had to replace animal protein with plant-based sources to help me feel satiated. Lots of whole grains/wheat, eggs, peanut butter, soy and legumes makes for a happy vegetarian belly. The vegan diet was a complete no-no for me. I couldn’t do it.

      Although the Kindle will never satisfy our need to hold a book in our hands and turn the pages, how did you like using it? I’m seriously considering purchasing a Kindle because the folks at Amazon are adding new features, like the option to borrow e-books from the library and loaning your e-books to other Kindle users!

      (P.S. I’m assuming Oscar dreams about ambulance and fire truck sirens. Not the Greek mythology sirens. LOL)

  4. raisingdaisy June 14, 2011 at 4:56 am #

    Thank you so much Pauline! We’re truly honored to be on your list! πŸ˜€

    How wonderful that you saved Oscar from life in the streets – and he repays you with his love every single day! Oscar shares his love of the color green with my daughter, and we both share our love of books with you.

    Now, to come up with our seven facts….

    Great post, and thanks again Pauline!

    • Oscar & Pauline June 16, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

      You’re welcome! I can’t wait to read your seven facts. πŸ˜€

  5. Bailey (Sheltie Times) June 14, 2011 at 7:26 am #

    We are always surprised to find that humans are not more food motivated.

    -Katy & Bailey

  6. Kas June 14, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    Thanks for nominating us! I guess we should do this now. That’s too funny about Oscar and his favorite color being green … who ever knew that dogs have a favorite color?? πŸ™‚ And Evee howls in her sleep too … maybe they are trying to communicate or something? πŸ˜›

    • Oscar & Pauline June 16, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

      Cute idea! Maybe they’re dreaming about each other. πŸ˜‰

  7. Novroz June 14, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    congrats Pauline & Oscar πŸ™‚
    very well deserved. Oscar’s favorite color is same with Kame & Kroten, green. I dont know why Oscar likes green…my double K love green because they think everything green is edible, all green is vegetable.

    I also enjoy conventional book much more than ebook…it is really fun turning the pages. audiobook is also something I haven’t found the joy yet…it makes me sleepy like someone is reading me a bedtime story.

    lots of xoxoxo for the award…we should change our draft now πŸ˜‰

  8. OscarBlogger June 14, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Congrats on the award! We’re very flattered that you passed this along to us, and we’ll be sure to pass it along soon! I really enjoy your blog, and it was nice to learn more about you and Oscar. It’s interesting that you said that Oscar’s favourite colour is green. I’ve never stopped to notice what colours our Oscar likes, but I’ll try to figure it out. πŸ™‚ Thanks so much!

    • Oscar & Pauline June 16, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

      Thanks for your kind words, from one Oscar to another! πŸ˜€

  9. Happy.Bark.Days June 14, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Congratulations Oscar & Pauline for being a recipient of the Versatile Blogger Award! Thanks for passing it paw-ward and sharing the honour with the nominees. Miss Maple is certainly feeling very warm from being in the limelight πŸ˜‰

    For me, I have to say that the best part of these awards is reading all the fun facts about the bloggers and their four-leggers. In my humble opinion, I think we make up one of the coolest communities in the blogosphere πŸ˜€

    • Oscar & Pauline June 16, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

      I couldn’t agree with you more.

      The pet blogging community has to be one of the friendliest groups on the web! Not a day goes by when I’m not thankful for our blogging buddies! πŸ˜€

      • Novroz June 17, 2011 at 10:03 am #

        I agree!
        I have 2blogs and I have to admit that I enjoy the community from my pet’s blog much more than my own blog. Maybe because we are people who easily love ous small companions…it makes us easier to get along.

  10. 2browndawgs June 16, 2011 at 4:31 am #

    I am just now catching up. You are very welcome for your award and it was much deserved!

    Does Oscar ever wake you up when he is howling in his sleep?

  11. Mary Hone June 16, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    I have to agree with the comment about the friendliest blogging community. It makes me think, if everyone had pets and loved them like we do, the world would be nicer all around.

  12. According to Gus June 17, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    Thank you!! I was so honored to see your email in my inbox! My apologies for my late response. We’ve been going at nutso speeds the past couple of weeks.

    I loved reading more about you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gratitude Page, Award and Twitter | Kame & Kroten Blog - June 15, 2011

    […] write about it yet. Two days ago, George gave us the same award…andΒ  yesterday, Oscar also gave us this […]

  2. Awards Appreciation : Versatile and Inspirational « Le Paws Voyage - July 21, 2011

    […] Speech:Β ”Firstly, Lele and I would like to extend our utmost thank you to pawpals bloggers Oscah Baby andΒ Yuki The Dog for the Versatile and Inspirational awards to Le Paws Voyage. Secondly, please […]

Leave a Reply

